Board of Adjustment


The Board of Adjustment performs all functions, powers, and duties as defined by the Routt County Zoning Resolution including:
  • Hearing and deciding requests for variances from strict application of the following zoning regulations: minimum setbacks, lot width, lot area, and floor area, and maximum structure height and separation between primary and secondary dwelling units.


The Board of Adjustment meets as needed on the 2nd Monday of every month at 6:00 p.m.  See the Planning Department page for information on how to participate.

All programs, services and activities of Routt County are operated in compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act.  Routt County uses the Relay Colorado service. Dial 711 or TDD (970) 870-5444.

Additional Information


The Routt County Board of Adjustment consists of 5 regular members and 2 alternate members appointed by the Board of County Commissioners.
  • Don Prowant, Chair
  • Brian Fitzgerald
  • Gerard Albers
  • Rebecca Lewis 
  • Joella West (Alternate 1)
  • Nate Law (Alternate 2)
  • Vacant Position