Concealed Handgun Permit
Concealed Handgun Carry Permit
Per C.R.S. 18-12-201
**CONCEALED WEAPON APPLICATION IS BY APPOINTMENT ONLY. Please call 970-870-5503 to schedule.
Application submission hours in Routt County: Concealed Handgun Permit applications are accepted with an appointment at 2027 Shield Drive, Steamboat Springs, Monday through Thursday, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. and Friday 9 a.m. to 11 a.m. excluding holidays. As you consider getting a CHP, we strongly recommend that you read our CHP Instructions Packet in its entirety before you begin. Please call 970-870-5503 to schedule an appointment.
Fee schedule: New CHP = $152.50 cash or check only (payable to RCSO)
Renewal = $63.00 cash or check only (payable to RCSO)
Disqualification, Denial, Revocation, Renewal Refusal and Appeal: The Sheriff and the Concealed Handgun Permit Team take this process very seriously. Each member supports the Constitution of the United States and will work diligently and honestly to process your application. There are, however, factors that can disqualify applicants in addition to obvious disqualifiers such as felony and domestic violence convictions. Multiple alcohol, drug and/or weapons-related arrests, proven untruthfulness, poor decision making, or inadequate training can together form an overall profile that makes an applicant unsuitable as a candidate for a Concealed Handgun Permit. Please consider carefully whether your background or personal circumstances could present an unfavorable overall picture. If your application is denied, and the denial is upheld after your appeal process is exhausted, your fees are not refundable.
Medical Marijuana: While the Colorado Constitution allows for an affirmative defense for the possession of marijuana, if the individual possessing marijuana has a valid state registry card or falls under the rules of the Colorado Medical Marijuana registry as a caregiver, possession of marijuana is still a violation under federal law. For the purpose of issuing concealed handgun permits, possession of, or use of marijuana is still a disqualifying factor. If you possess marijuana in any form, you must answer question #8 (under applicant history) on the CHP application form in the affirmative.
- CHP Information Packet
- CHP New/Renewal Application
- Supplemental Questionnaire
- CHP Renewal Packet
- CHP Renewal Training Affidavit
- CHP Address Change, Lost or Stolen Permit