Community Solar and Co-Op Options

Community solar programs allow customers to lease or subscribe to solar power produced by a solar array off-site. Community solar was instituted within Routt County through the GRID Alternatives Community Solar Project on the Yampa Valley Electric Association (YVEA) co-op campus in Steamboat Springs. 

YVEA, GRID Alternatives Colorado (GRID) and Colorado Energy Office (CEO) partnered to develop this community solar array, which is 100% dedicated to income-qualified YVEA members. Members participating in this program receive a bill "offset" from the energy produced by their portion of a community solar array. View current GRID Applications Status and waiting list for the income-qualify array through YVEA and/or GRID.

The Yampa Valley Solar Co-op through Solar United Neighbors (SUN) was open to residents and small businesses in Moffat and Routt Counties in 2019 to take advantage of the group’s bulk-purchasing power to obtain discounted pricing and a quality installation. Co-op members chose a local installer through a competitive bidding process.